There are numerous ways to give financial support to the department: outright gifts, multi-year pledges, bequests, life income gifts, charitable trusts. Following are the many philanthropic opportunities within the Department of Anesthesiology which support our innovative research endeavors, education and continued betterment of our faculty, staff and students.

You can make an online donation to  our department's initiative's right now through a secure credit card transaction. Click the text, Give Online, to be taken directly to Vanderbilt’s online giving link. Vanderbilt International Anesthesia (VIA) has already been selected as the program of choice under Allocation, but you can replace this text with any of the specific programs below. 

  •     Vanderbilt International Anesthesia - Funds department programs that provide international anesthesiology service and education.
  •     Volker Striepe Teaching Award - Endows annual award to faculty member for excellence in teaching.
  •     Pittinger Prize for Research - Endows annual award to members of the Department of Anesthesiology for excellence in research.
  •     James Tayloe Gwathmey Award - Endows annual award for exceptional academic potential to a Vanderbilt medical student entering the specialty of anesthesiology.
  •     BE Smith Mentorship Award - Endows annual award to an individual who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring a member of the Department of Anesthesiology.
  •     Roger England Research Training Award and Fund - Funds an annual award that recognizes exceptional contributions by research support staff.
  •     BE Smith Lectureship - Endows annual lectureship on professionalism in medicine.
  •     BH Robbins Lectureship - Endows annual lectureship in anesthesiology research.
  •     James Phythyon Lectureship - Endows annual lectureship in pediatric anesthesiology.
  •     Anesthesiology Innovation Grant Program - Funds investigator-initiated research conducted by faculty and trainees in the Department of Anesthesiology.
  •     BH Robbins Scholars Program - Endows stipends for research fellows and funds fellowship seminar program.
  •     Resident Research Fund - Funds research activities of trainees in the Department of Anesthesiology.
  •     Resident Education Fund - Funds education program development in the Department of Anesthesiology.
  •     Anesthesiology Innovation Grant Program - Funds starter grants for investigator-initiated research projects in the Department of Anesthesiology.

Planned Development of Three Endowed Chairs:

In addition to the above giving opportunities, we are the only top-ranked, NIH-funded Anesthesia department currently without an endowed chair. Our goal is to develop three endowed chairs to perpetuate and initiate vital advances in these fields:

  • Cardiovascular Anesthesia
  • Neurosurgical Anesthesia
  • Pediatric Anesthesia

We need your help! Contributing to our endowment allows us to fund professorships, chairs, and special research programs and facilities that make Vanderbilt Anesthesiology what it is today and can be in the future.

Feel free to contact us with any questions: or (615) 936-1595.