Return to Home Page

Faculty Present at STA Annual Meeting

Several Anesthesiology Department faculty members presented at the Society for Technology in Anesthesia Annual Meeting in mid-January, an event for which Brian Rothman, MD, was program co-chair.

Presentations included:

  • AIMS Workshop: A Vendor-oriented View of Meaningful Use, Brian Rothman, MD
  • “Big Data,” Moderator Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH
  • “Practical Approaches to Perioperative Genomics,” Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH
  • Expert Panel w/Covidien: “Crying Wolf! Preventing Perioperative Deaths Through Effective Alarm Management,” Panelist, Joseph Schlesinger, MD
  • “Interoperability and Safety” Panel, Moderator Brian Rothman, MD
  • Integrating User-Centered Design into Health Information Technology Development, Anne Miller, PhD
  • Lecture: “Smart Trash – RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) as Recycling Green Technology,” Brian Rothman, MD
  • Lecture: “Utilizing Multisensory Integration to Improve Monitoring and Alarm Management,” Joseph Schlesinger, MD
  • Lecture: “Metadata, Electronic Medical Records & Clinicians: Big Data, Big Brother, Big Opportunity,” Jon Wanderer, MD, MPhil
  • Poster: “Preoperative Type and Screen Testing for Elective Surgery: Using a Data Warehouse to Identify Workflow Process Errors,” Spencer Jennings; Jon Wanderer, MD, MPhil; Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH
  • Poster: “Improving Pulse Oximetry Pitch Perception with Multisensory Perceptual Training,” Joseph Schlesinger, MD
  • Poster: “Development of a Student-Faculty Matching Algorithm for Preceptorship Placement,” Shane Selig; Michaelene Johnson, BBA; Jon Wanderer, MD, MPhil; Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH
  • Poster: “Criteria for Airway Difficulty Classification: A Survey of Clinical Practice in the US and Canada,” Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH; Madeleine Hebert; Doug Hester, MD
  • Poster: “An Automated Case Cancellation Review System for Enhancing Systems-Based Practice in Anesthesia Residency Training,” Blake Thompson; Michaelene Johnson, BBA; Jesse Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH; Jon Wanderer, MD, MPhil