Program Leadership

Program Director Eric Delpire, PhD

Eric Delpire, PhDEric Delpire, PhD, is professor of Anesthesiology and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, and he has been at Vanderbilt since 2005. He has more than 20 years of experience studying the molecular mechanisms underlying ion transporter function, regulation, and defects in human diseases. Dr. Delpire’s research includes studies of ion transport mechanisms involved in the modulation of GABAergic inhibitory neurotransmission related to brain hyper-excitability and modulation of salt reabsorption in kidney, and control of blood pressure. He has consistently maintained a well-funded research program and trained some 20 postdoctoral and predoctoral researchers. Dr. Delpire is the Director of the Anesthesiology Basic Science Research Division where he mentors young faculty, and since 2001 he has been serving on the Graduation Education Committee in the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics where he mentors students. He is a former recipient of the Established Investigator Award of the American Heart Association, currently the chair of the Cell and Molecular Physiology Section of the American Physiological Society, and is founding president of the Tennessee Physiological Society. Dr. Delpire is also an AAAS fellow.

Oversight and Selection (O&S) Committee

The Program Director works jointly with an Oversight and Selection (O&S) Committee consisting of Drs. Stephen Bruehl, Jerod Denton, Pratik Pandharipande, Edward Sherwood, and Matthew Weinger. This committee brings together scientists and clinicians with excellent national reputations as investigators and mentors. In the event that Dr. Delpire is no longer able to serve as Program Director, a member of this Committee would be named as his successor after consultation with senior leadership in the Department and Institution.