Patients and Visitors go to

Return to Home Page

Dr. James Phythyon Endowed Lectureship in Pediatric Anesthesiology

Since 2007 the Dr. James Phythyon Endowed Lectureship in Pediatric Anesthesiology has brought renowned experts in the field to Vanderbilt's campus as visiting professors. At a special Grand Rounds lecture, these exerts share their research findings and expertise with the depaartment. During their visit, the speakers also meet with residents and fellows for small group teaching sessions and informal discussions. The lectureship was established by the family of Dr. James Phythyon, a founding member of VUMC's Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology. Dr. Phythyon's widow, Mrs. Marlin Sanders, and the couple's daughters, Mary Neal Meador, Elizabeth Donner, and Sarah Miller, are strong supporters of the department. Each year, they attend the lecture and other events in honor of Dr. Phythyon.

Phythyon Lectureship

Members of Dr. James Phythyon’s family attend the annual lecture named in his honor. Shown here, left to right, Phythyon daughters Sarah Miller, Mary Neal Meador and Elizbeth Donnor with guest speaker Dolores Njoku, MD, and Warren S. Sandberg, MD, PhD. 

In 2017, Dolores Njoku, MD, presented a well-received Grand Rounds lecture on “Understanding Outcomes from Pediatric Spine Fusion.”

Past Phythyon Lectureship speakers include:

Patrick J. Guffey, MD
Associate Chief Medical Information Officer Children’s Hospital Colorado
Associate Clinical Director, Anesthesiology Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology University of Colorado, Denver
Grand Rounds Title: “The National Anesthesia Incident Reporting System”

C. Dean Kurth, MD
Director of the Department of Anesthesia at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, Ohio

Lena S. Sun, MD
Vice-chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and chair of the Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology at Columbia University Medical Center, New York

Randall Wetzel, MD
Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine at Children’s Hospital in
Los Angeles

Peter Marhofer, MD
Director of Paediatric Anaesthesia and professor, Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, at the Medical University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Dean Andropoulos, MD, MHCM
hief of Anesthesiology at Texas Children’s Hospital; Shobha Malvia, MD, of The University of Michigan Health System

Philip Morgan, MD
University of Washington and Seattle Children’s Hospital

Francis X. McGowan Jr., MD
Children’s Hospital Boston

Peter Davis, MD
Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

Myron Yaster, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine