DHSS Academic Calendar 2017-2018*

Fall Semester, 2017

Aug. 21 & 22, Mon-Tue.

 New Student Orientation & Fall registration/change period begins

Aug. 23, Wed.

 Classes begin

Aug. 30, Wed

 Clinics begin for continuing students

Sept. 4, Mon.

 Labor Day Holiday (School of Medicine)

Sept. 6, Wed.

 Clinics begin for incoming students

 Fall registration ends

Oct. 12-13, Thur-Fri

 Fall Break (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 year AUD)

Nov. 1, Wed

 Spring registration opens

Nov. 15, Tue

 Capstone Manuscripts due to Committee (3rd yr AUD students)

Nov. 18-26, Sat-Sun

 Thanksgiving Holidays (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUD)

Dec. 7, Thur.

 Classes/Clinics End

 Deadline to Orally Defend Capstone (3rd yr AUD students)

Dec. 8-15, Fri-Fri

 Examinations and reading

Dec. 18, Mon

 Last day for faculty to submit final grades for PhD program

Dec. 20, Wed

 Last day for faculty to submit final grades for AUD, MDE, MS-SLP programs

Dec. 16 - Jan. 7, Sat-Sun

 Holiday break (PhD, SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUD)

Spring Semester, 2018

Jan. 8, Mon.

 Classes/Clinics begin

Jan. 15, Mon

 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday

Jan. 22, Mon

 Spring registration closes

Jan. 31, Wed

 Deadline for SLP students requesting thesis track

Feb. 1, Thur

 Deadline for completing capstone revisions (3rd yr AUDs)

Mar. 3-11, Sat-Sun

 Spring Holidays (PhD, non-extern SLP, MDE & 1-3 yr AUDs)

Mar. 26 Mon

 Registration opens

Apr. 1, Sun.

 Proposals due to Capstone Committee (2nd yr AUDs)

Apr. 23, Mon

 Classes/Clinics End

Apr. 24 - May 3, Tue-Thur.

 Reading days and examinations

May 6, Sun.

 Last day for faculty to submit final grades

May 10, Thur.

 DHSS graduation celebration

May 11, Fri.

 Commencement

Maymester 2018

Mon, May 7

 MDE, Specialty Track (5/7-25) and Voice Track Students, elective for 1st or 2nd year AUD

Summer Session 2018

June 5, Tues

 Classes/Clinics begin

June 7, Thur

 Registration closes for AUD, MDE, MS-SLP students*

July 4, Wed

 Independence Day Holiday

Aug.10, Fri.

 Classes/Clinics end

Aug. 13-14, Mon-Tues

 Exams

Aug. 16, Thur

 Last day for faculty to submit final grades

Future academic calendars can be found on the University Registrar’s website at: https://registrar.vanderbilt.edu/calendars/