Vanderbilt Center for Quality Aging Partners with Q-Source

Dementia and Antipsychotics in the Long Term Care Setting: A Quality Improvement Initiative

Vanderbilt Center for Quality Aging partnered with atom Alliance, a quality improvement agency, to present a series of web-based trainings for skilled nursing facilities to reduce usage of antipsychotic drugs. The six part series took place from October 2015 to March 2016; however, sessions can still be viewed through Atom Alliance's Learning On Demand website.

For more information about the series, presenters, or Center for Quality Aging contact Emily Hollingsworth at emily.k.hollingsworth@vanderbilt.edu or 615-936-2718.

Our Team

Dr. Sandra F. Simmons, PhD


 

Sandra F. Simmons, PhD

Associate Professor of Medicine
Vanderbilt Center for Quality Aging
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

sandra.simmons@vanderbilt.edu
Biographical Sketch

James Powers, MD


James S. Powers, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Vanderbilt-Reynolds Geriatric Education Center
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

james.powers@vanderbilt.edu
Biographical Sketch

Paul A. Newhouse, MD


Paul A. Newhouse, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology, and Medicine
Director, Center for Cognitive Medicine
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

paul.newhouse@vanderbilt.edu
Biographical Sketch

Warren Taylor, MD


Warren D. Taylor, M.D.

Director, Mood Disorders Program
Researcher, Center for Cognitive Medicine
Psychiatry Department
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

warren.d.taylor@vanderbilt.edu

Biographical Sketch

Jennifer Kim, DNP
Jennifer Kim, DNP, GNP, FNAP

Assistant Professor
Co-Director, Vanderbilt Center for Gerontological Nursing Excellence
Vanderbilt School of Nursing

jennifer.kim@vanderbilt.edu
Biographical Sketch

Beth Hercher
Beth Hercher, CPHQ

QI Advisor
Qsource

Carrie Plummer
Carrie Plummer, PhD, ANP-BC

Instructor
Vanderbilt School of Nursing

carrie.e.plummer@vanderbilt.edu

Acknowledgments

Funding Source
Nursing Home Civil Monetary Penalty Quality Improvement (CMPQI) Program Implementation Funding Opportunity

Collaborators
Ralf Habermann, MD

Megan Simmons, DNP