The VUMC Evidence-based Practice and Nursing Research Committee was established to better serve the Vanderbilt Nursing community by supporting nursing research and evidence-based practice.

VUMC Nursing Research Committee Goals

Long-term Goal

Provide leadership for the use of evidence-based practice as an integral component of clinical practice and management decision making.

Short-term Goals (1-2 yrs):

  • Ensure access & ability to use data and evidence resources.
  • Develop guidelines and tools to support nurses in meeting EBP competencies.
  • Facilitate consistent practice through effective communication.

Nursing Research Committee Members

Committee Co-Chairs:

Julia Yao, RN

Carolyn Forrest, RN

Meeting Date and Time

The VUMC Nursing Research Committee meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month 9:00 - 11:00am. Please contact Julia Yao if you are interested in attending: jun.yao@vanderbilt.edu

Nursing Research Committee Member Contacts

Entity / Department

Name

Email

VPH Carolyn Forrest, RN margaret.c.forrest@vanderbilt.edu
Clinical Trials Center Mary Downey, RN mary.l.downey@vanderbilt.edu
VUH, MICU Darlene McCormick, RN4 darlene.mccornick@vanderbilt.edu
VCH, NICU Stephanie Abbu, MSN, RN stephanie.n.abbu@vanderbilt.edu
VUH, Urology Julia Yao, RN, BSN jun.yao@vanderbilt.edu
Nursing Education and
Professional Development
Gloria Wacks, PhD, RN gloria.j.wacks@vanderbilt.edu
Nursing Research Office Elizabeth Card, MSN, RN, FNP-DC, CCRP elizabeth.b.card@vanderbilt.edu
Nursing Research Office Nancy Wells, DNSc, RN, FAAN nancy.wells@vanderbilt.edu
Quality, Safety and Risk Prevention
Traci Denton, BA, BSN, RN, CCRN traci.denton@vanderbilt.edu

NRC