Congratulations to our 2017 Graduating Residents!


Mary-Margaret Allen, M.D.
Hematopathology Fellow, 2017
Moffitt Cancer Center


Jonathan Douds, M.D.
Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2017
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Jeffery Goldstein, M.D., Ph.D.
Pediatric Pathology Fellow, 2017
Lurie Children’s Hospital.Northwestern University

Ashley Jones-Ragle, M.D.
United States Army Medical Corps. HI

Laura Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Genetics Pathology Fellow, 2017
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Brian Radlinski, M.D.
Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2017
Emory University

Jeremy Shelton, M.D.
Forensic Pathology Fellow, 2017
Tulsa Medical Examiner’s Office

Anne Shepler, M.D.
Neuropathology Fellow, 2017
University of Pittsburgh


Charles Stoudenmire, M.D.
Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2017
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Pathology Residency Program Faculty Teaching Awards - 2017


Anatomic Pathology

Rami Al-Rohil, M.B.B.S.
Assistant Professor, PMI


Clinical Pathology

Aaron Shaver, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, PMI

Pathology Residency Program Fellow Teaching Awards - 2017


Anatomic Pathology

Woon Chow, M.D., Ph.D.
Neuropathology Fellow


Clinical Pathology

Joesph Wiencek, Ph.D.
Clinical Chemistry Fellow

Sidney P. Colowick Awards


Cellular and Molecular Pathology Graduate Student Award:

Clare Adams
Chris Eischen Lab


Microbiology and Immunology Graduate Student Award:

Andrew Flyak
Jim Crowe Lab


PMI Postdoctoral Fellow Award:

Nicole Chumbler
Borden Lacy Lab

2015 Mini-Sabbatical Awardees


Program in Microbial Pathogenesis

Joe Alvin, Borden Lacy Lab.  Dept of PMI. In collaboration with:  Jonathan Schmitz Lab, PMI

Muthukumar Balasubramaniam, Chandravanu (CV) Dash Lab, Meharry Center for AIDS Health Disparities Research. In collaboration with: Chris Aiken Lab, PMI.

Program in Immunology

Diana Contreras, Holly Algood Lab,  PMI. In collaboration with: Richard Peek Lab, Depts of Medicine and Cancer Biology

Sudheer Pabbisetty, Eric Sebzda Lab, PMI. In collaboration with: Luc Van Kaer Lab, PMI

Pavlo Gilchuk, Sebastian Joyce Lab.  In collaboration with: Doug Green Lab, St. Judes Children’s Hospital, Memphis, TN  

Six PMI Faculty Elected AAAS Fellows

Left to Right:  Agnes Fogo, M.D.; Richard Hoover, Ph.D.; Jay Jerome, Ph.D.; Simon Mallal, MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA; Donald Rubin, M.D.; and James Thomas, M.D.

Six members of PMI's faculty have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for this year.  

They are among 401 fellows from around the country selected by their peers because of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”
Link to complete article

aTerumo BCT’s 2014 Advancing Apheresis Awardee. 

Garrett Booth, M.D., Assistant Professor of PMI
Associate Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine

Dr. Garrett Booth has received a $10,000 global grant to explore the efficacy of a mobile application to educate patients, nurses, clinical providers and transfusion medicine trainees about apheresis.

aKasia Ludwika graduate student in Dr. Deborah Lannigan's Lab, had an abstract chosen for an oral presentation at ENDO 2015: The 97th Endocrine Society Annual Meeting in San Diego. She also received an Endocrine Society Outstanding Abstract Travel Award. Congratulations!